2 September 2017

Recent Updates

RULEBOOK 1.3.1

1. Changed title from “Learn to Play Rulebook™ to “Rulebook”
2. Replaced preview image of Jasper Stone on Legend card example to full version of
Jasper Stone.

RULEBOOK 1.3

1. Section 3.2: Legend Card (pg. 7)

First paragraph: “Legend cards cannot be affected by card effects unless a card specifically states
that it can affect a Legend card.”

2. Section 5.3.1: The Five Plays — Actin’ (pg. 16)

First paragraph: “To do so, declare the ability, pay any costs, meet any requirements if necessary,
and resolve its effects.”

Second paragraph: “Also, if the card says something like, “do X to achieve Y,” X is considered a
eost requirement.”

Fourth paragraph: “Even so, you can only use each ability on a given card in play once per day
or once during setup. It’s important to note that normally, an ability used during setup will not be
available during the first turn since abilities only “refresh” at the end of a turn, and the end of
setup 1is not considered an ‘end of a turn.””

3. Section 5.4: Sundown (pg. 19)

Fourth paragraph: “All players then discard down or refill their play hand to their maximum
hand size (normally 5 cards).”

Fifth paragraph: “Next unboot all cards, and then turn and phase effects end in the following
order:
1) The active window for Sundown effects now ends (so abilities or requirements based
on Sundown can no longer be triggered).
2) Effects that apply “during Sundown” end.”

Sixth paragraph: “Abilities now refresh, which means they can be used again and are ready for
the next day.”

4. Section 6.1, Step 4: Reveal and Resolve (pqg. 21-22)
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Fourth paragraph: “Resolution abilities’ effects last until the end of that round, unless stated
otherwise by the card. For example, Hex Slingin’ will increase your hand rank by 2 only for the
round in which it was played.”

5. Section 6.1, Step 5: (Take Yer Lumps) (pg. 22-23)

Sixth through ninth paragraphs: “Each player (in the order described above) first assigns their
casualties by announcing which of their dudes and Sidekicks will be aced or discarded in
sequential order. Next, that player takes their casualties, resolving each one at a time in the
selected order until they have met their required casualties (so if a card effect forces a dude to be
selected as the first casualty, they must also be resolved first).

In the event that a player takes zero casualties during a round, they still assign and take
casualties. In this case, the player will assign zero casualties, then take zero casualties. This is
important, as there may be card effects that interact with either assigning or taking casualties.

If a card effect ever forces you to take casualties separately from the difference in hand ranks,
there will still be the process of assigning and taking those casualties.

astheﬂfwspeasualty—thewnuspalseﬂbe#esewedi%t} Note that even |f the Ioser must ace or

discard all dudes in their posse, the winner must still take all their casualties. Remember that
while aced dudes go to your Boot Hill, their attached cards are discarded instead.”

6. Section 7.1: Reacts (pg. 25-26)

Moved the Compendium’s Glossary entry on Reacts into this section, and appended the
following text:

“Reacts, unless specified otherwise, last as long as their commensurate counterpart, i.e.:

1) The effects of a react triggered during Noon last until the end of the day.

2) The effects of a react triggered during a shootout last until the end of that shootout.
3) The effects of a react triggered during Upkeep last until the end of that phase.

4) The effects of a react triggered during lowball last until the end of lowball.

5) The effects of a react triggered during Sundown last until the end of that phase.”

7. Section 7.2.2: Inventing Gadgets (pg. 27)

Third paragraph: “The cost of inventing a Gadget is as follows:

1) Boot your Mad Scientist in-a-locationyou-contrel,”
COMPENDIUM 0.7

1. Table of Contents (pg. 1-2)
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Added link for each section in the Glossary.

2. Glossary: “Attachment Limits” (pg. 3)

New entry: “Attachment Limits: After each play, if a dude has more than the rulebook limit of
a specific type of attachment (e.g. a Horse or Weapon), or does not meet the requirements to
have a certain type of attachment, the controller of that dude must discard any number of those
attachments until legal.”

3. Glossary: “Cooperating: Union & Confederate” (pg. 4)

Removed previous entry, replaced with: ““The Union and Confederate deckbuilding and play
restrictions have been removed the game. Union and Confederate will now be treated like
keywords with no inherent rules, such as Deputy or Seedy.”

4. Glossary: “Hand Rank Modifiers” (pg. 5-6)

New entry: “Hand Rank Modifiers: Hand ranks are the sum of the base hand rank of a player’s
revealed cards, plus any modifiers to that hand rank. Hand rank modifiers are always applied to
the revealed hand as a static calculation, as such:

Final hand rank = revealed hand rank + modifiers

For example, let’s say you reveal a cheatin’ full house. Your hand rank is currently 7.
Final hand Rank (7) = revealed hand rank (7) + modifiers (0)

Then you get hit by a hand rank reduction of 2 from the non-Cheatin’ ability on Cheatin’
Varmint, which makes your hand rank a 5:

Final hand rank (5) = revealed hand rank (7) + modifiers (-2)

Then you get hit by a subsequent Bottom Dealin’, which draws you a 2 pair, for a revealed hand
rank of 3. At this point your final hand rank is 1, because your revealed rank and modifiers are
calculated as such:

Final hand rank (1) = revealed hand rank (3) + modifiers (-2)
The hand rank that matters for determining casualties (the aforementioned final hand rank) is
always the sum of the final revealed hand on the table plus modifiers used by either player on
that hand. Hand rank modifiers last for the normal duration of the ability (e.g. Shootout abilities
for the entire shootout, Resolution for that round), unless otherwise specified.”

5. Glossary: “React” (pg. 8)
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Moved this entry into Section 7.1 of the main rulebook.

6. Glossary: “React Priorities” (pg. 8)

New entry: “React Priorities: When any event occurs (such as revealing a cheatin’ hand), each
player, starting with the winner, has the opportunity to use applicable traits or Reacts in response
to that event. If a trait or React says “instead,” it must be used before all other traits and Reacts,
and will end the opportunity to respond to the original, replaced event for all players. In addition,
traits always have priority over Reacts with the same event window.

Thus, resolve traits and Reacts in this order:
1. Traits with “instead”
2. Reacts with “instead”
3. Other traits
4. Other Reacts

The inclusion of the terms “after” and “when” in a trait or React have specific meaning that
should be adhered to. “After” the event means that the event has completed (such as discarding a
dude). The window for “when” an event occurs happens before the window for “after,” and
means that the event is in the process of being executed. Thus, any traits and Reacts that trigger
off of “when” an event occurs always have their event window before traits and Reacts that
trigger “after” the event.

Traits and Reacts that trigger “before” an event have a window that must be used before an event
that will happen in the game, such as “before taking casualties” in a shootout. This timing should
not conflict with other event windows.

When players have the opportunity to respond to any of these “before,” “when,” or “after” event
windows, the winner always has first priority within them, just as with other Reacts and traits.”

7. Glossary: “Send Home Booted” (pg. 8-9)

New entry: “Send Home Booted: Sometimes cards will use the phrase “send a dude home
booted” (or a similar variation), often on Shootout abilities. For example, the card Pistol Whip
has the following text:
Shootout: Boot your dude in this posse to send a dude in the other posse home booted.
Your dude gets —1 bullets (minimum 0).

“Sending a dude home booted” or any similar text is shorthand for the following routine:

1) Choose a dude.

2) Boot the chosen dude (if they are unbooted).

3) Send the dude to their controller’s home (if that dude’s current location is not their
controller’s home).

4) The dude leaves their posse and is no longer in the shootout.

5) If a card effect (trait or ability) prevents a dude from being booted, being moved from the
location, or from leaving the posse, that dude cannot be ‘sent home booted.””
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8. Section 2. Banned Cards (pg. 14)

Section added to contain list of all cards banned from official Doomtown Reloaded tournaments.
“108 Worldy Desires” is the first (and at this point only) card added to this list.

9. FAQ: “Henry Moran” (pg. 15)

New entry (also see technical errata in point 8 below):
» There is only one opportunity to react to a cheatin’ hand since the first hand is replaced
by the second instead of being revealed.

10. FAQ: “POST-A-TRON” (pg. 17)
New entry:
» This dude’s trait allows it to be included in a starting gang for Morgan Cattle Company; it

cannot be included as a starting dude for non-MCC factions.

11. FAQ: “Run ‘Em Down” (pg. 25)

New line item:
» If you use a React ability such as Morgan Stables to make another play after moving with
Run ‘Em Down, you must complete all of Run ‘Em Down'’s effects before taking that
play, including any shootout started by issuing a call out with Run ‘Em Down.

12. Errata: “Henry Moran” (p. 27)

New technical errata: “If Henry is unbooted when you would reveal an illegal draw hand during
lowball, boot Henry, discard the illegal hand, and reveal the top five cards of your deck as your
hand instead.”

13. Errata: “No Turning Back” (p. 27)

New technical errata: “Resolution: Ace a dude you own and control to reduce your casualties
this round to zero. Choose a dude who gets +2 bullets and becomes a stud for the remainder of
the shootout. Your dudes cannot flee this round.”



