Occasionally Pine Box Entertainment, in addition to developing new content, reexamines existing cards and rulings to improve Doomtown’s player experience.

Our most recent changes affected Showboating (ban) and Nicodemus Whateley (maximum 3 control points), as well as rewording Morgan Cattle Company to clarify that it works as one sentence. Since then, we’ve had some updated rulings that we will collate in a new compendium change. These become effective starting at GenghisCon and the first of three Twilight Protocol Series events along with the 2019 Organized Play Round-Ups.

Force Field: There’s been some discussion on how Force Field functions. A scenario can occur in which Force Field matches your opponent’s hand rank, and subsequent cards such as LeMat Revolver further increase your own rank. The following updated wording is consistent with the original design intent of this card. To quote a member of the original design team for Doomtown Base Set:

The design intent was for you not to be able to win that hand. You need to issue errata on the original card to make it so you cannot win the hand. It was designed to cause more attrition, not to create an alternative path to win.”

Repeat Resolution, Pay X Ghost Rock: Raise your draw hand rank by X for this round. Your hand rank cannot exceed your opponent’s hand rank. You may not use any other card’s Cheatin’ Resolutions or Resolution effects.

We feel the above wording brings the card in line with that intent, as well as clarifying resolution and cheatin’ resolutions that affect hand ranks and how they function with Force Field.

Next up, in a change with how items attach, Concealed Weapons now permits booted dudes to attach cards, similar to General Store. Attachment via card effect can be to anyone, anywhere.

The following summarize recent rulings posted on the Pine Box Forums and slated for the upcoming compendium update.

It’s Who You Know: this card explicitly refers to drawing cards in the shootout, and not actual bullet rating for cards like Shotgun. This was reflected in the promo version released in the Abomination Series.

Fetch is now clarified that the cards are not taken out of the hand until the cards enter the discard pile. This was done to make sure everyone knows that taking the card out of the hand does not then change the hand rank; it was questioned whether turning it into a 4-card hand would alter the hand rank.

-Shootouts start after posses are formed for purposes of Five Aces Gambling Hall and Pearly’s Palace (posses are formed before the first shootout action).

-You cannot opt to boot to move if the rules don’t allow it. For instance, in moving from home to Town Square, you cannot choose to boot your dude, as per the rules, the dude does not boot.

Tse-Che-Nako’s Weaving: The control point lasts until the end of turn. This will be noted in a rulebook update to clarify that non-permanent CP and bullets are lost at Sundown (after Victory is checked).

-Cards such as Epidemic Laboratory and the upcoming Office of Ancestral Affairs refer to the Leader booting. Per the rulebook on jobs initiated by deeds and outfits (except Desolation Row, which specifies booting the card, not the Leader).

-Reacts are not ‘Plays’ for the purposes, for instance, of the Johnny Brocklehurst ability.

Soul Blast still costs 1: there was a printing error with the promo released in ‘There Comes A Reckoning.’ Feel free to use them in the Twilight is Upon Us events, where they will cost Zero for that alternate format.

We hope this helps new and old players with a better understanding of Doomtown and we look forward to the next major round-up at GenghisCon and introduce more players to the Weird West!

Share This